who, what, WEAR?

What’s trending these days?

I must admit that I absolutely hate it when people ask me what’s “trending” or tell me something lame like “your shoes are so on trend right now”. I never chose to buy something merely because it’s popular or developing into a trend.

But after seeing the latest Fashion Week, I can’t help but notice that there are some epic developments that I really like and want to bring to your attention.

So let’s start this off..

  1. Candy coated

Sorbet / pastel coloured coats. No more dark colours! light pink, light blue, light anything – it looks great! Sonia Rykiel nailed it in her collection of candy-colour coats that were statement pieces on their own because of their sharp cut. I love how she paired these candy coats with high socks that came just below the knee – sexy and elegant, just how we like it : )

I like this trend because pastel colours are understated and chic – yet confident and feminine. Have a look at Burberry’s “macaroon garden” fall collection – Christopher nailed it once again !

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 2. Sack this trend

Sack bags, who would’ve thought?

But they look great and are really original which is what I like about them– I mean why have a bag in the shape of a bag?

The sack bag is a new take on the classically structured clutch and is a soft-line pouch that sits easily under the arm. Celine got this one right…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 3. Old Hollywood is new style

I don’t know about you but I love looking back at pictures of my grandparents when they were younger. My granny had this Grace Kelly vibe about her and she had the style and elegance of a Hollywood movie star. Clinched waists, tailored suits, shoulder pads and daring colours – Hollywood glam is coming in hot. Think of Alfred Hitchcock’s leading ladies –feminine and sexy.

Check out the fall collections of Louis Vuitton, Miu Miu, Nina Ricci and Oscar De La Renta.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

4. XXXL

Overboard proportions and extra volume are unexpected and yet surprisingly comfortable. Winter is all about that comfort! I first noticed this from Stella McCarthy’s line a while ago and I didn’t think I’d ever see it again but I think it looks really nice. Really nice.

Take a look at how stylish these oversized coats look…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Stay posted for the rest of my trend predictons for winter 🙂
Follow me x x x

Holly Hocks x

Leave a Reply

