New kicks made me think

I’ve been looking at buying a new pair of trainers for a while now- and I realised that in actual fact I don’t really wear many shoes apart from my sneakers.

Are we the new generation of girl-sneaker-wearers where we edge closer into the male section of clothing stores? Take my Nike Roshe Runs for example, when I asked an attendant if they were for Males or for Females (all running shoes look the same to me) he looked at me like I was the most deficient human being he’d ever met and replied smugly that they were in fact “unisex”. Apart from feeling like an ignorant fool – I realised that I have slowly but surely been edging closer to male clothing – and it was weird.

The frenzy around the “Androgynous style” has been prominent in almost every fashion week – from the likes of Tommy Hilfiger, Michael Kors and even Gucci. But I never really considered myself to be anything close to that – yet here I was, sitting on the seat of the Nike store with the epiphany that I was in fact androgynous whether I liked to admit it or not. But anyway – I think that’s the thing about fashion – it reflects not only your style, but your sense of character too. I love the femininity and delicacy of women’s fashion – but I also love to chill with the guys and watch a good game of rugby.

IMG_1458

So anyway getting back to the shoes I bought – I chose a special edition, white-on-white pair of Roshe runs and quite frankly, I couldn’t be more stoked about them!

Whatcha think?

2 thoughts on “New kicks made me think

Leave a Reply

