Priceless

As a society that’s driven largely by consumption, it’s ironic that the items that provide us with the most reward are in fact priceless.

My mum received a few of my grandmother’s jewellery pieces when she passed away and I’ve only gone through them all just recently. I came across a fob watch (still actually have no idea what that is – all I know is that it’s worth almost as much as my car and yet is smaller than the palm of my hand ). As I sat on the bed surrounded by my gran’s beautiful pieces, I was struck by the realisation that these fragments of her history have so much more value to me than the most expensive piece of jewellery I could ever buy.

 I held it in my hand I wondered what it’d seen, where it’d been and whom it’d met. My grandmother was the embodiment of elegance and lived the most glamourous life, she’s always been like Princess Diana to me – and this little pendant was like a fragment of her life that was still left on earth.

blog post 3

blog post 2

blog post

I love that about some items of clothing or jewellery – the best ones are the ones with a secret history that still have a future. I’ve never been an avid shopper for vintage clothing because quite frankly it can be really gross – but maybe I should try it out.  As cliche’d as it sounds,  in the agitation to just needlessly consume we actually lose sight of the things that hold the most value that money just can’t equate with.

Whatcha think?

HH XX

Leave a Reply

