Stolen cupboards of the best kind

Theft is acceptable under absolutely no circumstances — but exceptions can be made when it’s your own family. I’ve regularly taken advantage of my dad and brothers’ excess of clothing and I can’t help but appreciate some of their toss-outs. “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure” is basically the underlying message of this post.

I’m really not a fan of hustling through used clothing shops – but I think that vintage clothing actually exemplifies the significance of fashion.

Fashion has massive connotations as being an industry fuelled by folly, vanity and indulgence – when in actual fact it’s occupied and driven by some of the worlds most creative and intelligent people. I don’t know how designers like Ellie Saab, Alexander McQueen and Vera Wang are able to create style phenomenons that leave an everlasting impact on international trends for decades. 

It is without a doubt the most narcissistic, image-obsessed industry on the planet –  but it’s always sort of “dumbed down” when in actual fact it should be elevated to a greater degree than what it is.  I think that the level of self-obsession apparent in fashion is quite frankly disgusting – but aside from that, so much talent has gone in to making garments that often proceed to define an era or a moment in history.

The fact that something worn decades ago is still somewhat valued today highlights how good clothing never really goes out of date.

IMG_1916

 IMG_1891

My dad had this Trench coat (above) hidden in his cupboard and he was going to throw it away when I interjected and relinquished it from the SPCA’s claws. It turns out that he actually had it in the Army – which explains its masterful ability to shield me from the absolute horror of Cape Town’s winter. The funniest thing is that when I was at the shops with one of my mates the other day, someone actually approached me and asked me if I bought my jacket from Topshop –  I couldn’t help but laugh in her face.

IMG_1936

 It has a million stains on it and is an XXXL but there’s nothing better than a comfy oversized sweater. I think that every girl has either a hoodie or a sweater from an ex boyfriend trophied somewhere in their cupboard! 

So I guess one man’s trash really is another gal’s treasure.

HH XX

Leave a Reply

