Pencil it in

Ambition is something that distinguishes you as a cut above the rest – and proves to be significant in the success of pretty much every entrepreneur and businessman or woman. As any other ambitious university graduate, nothing can compare to the terror I have for next year.

2016 is essentially the year most of us start working – and that means no more “I’m a student” excuses. My plan for the big year include making full use of my Irish Passport on the streets of London and the realisation that I better start thinking about what the appropriate thing to wear to work would be – because I’m definitely not going to be cheeeeelling on Clifton 4th all day. Gone are the days of food court banter, last minute cocktails with friends, lazy afternoon naps and doing whatever I want whenever I want – it’s time to not only act like a grown up, but look like one too. Alas, the pencil skirt has apparently come to the rescue.

I’ve always hated pencil skirts – in my eyes they were the guy in the corner with bad breath and the classic go-to piece in every “mom closet”. However, most girls tend to change their minds every two seconds, as have I – and seeing that the working world only allows for an inch above the knee – pencil skirts have become the saviour of any working gal’s closet. They’re the sartorial uniform that’s never passé and you just can’t go wrong with.

When I look around at my friends and I – we definitely aren’t part of the “pencil skirt” stage of life – but we’re close. Our jeans and T-shirt stage is soon to be over and 2016 is the year that many are signed to different companies, departing from student life and taking our first step into proper adulthood.

image2

image 1

Photographer: Jason Broderick

(click the image to see it nicely)

OutfitWatch: Lacoste Man (stolen from my brother, haha!), Crop Top: Mr Price (only R40 – you’ll thank me later), Pencil Skirt: Top Shop, Flatforms: Zara.

To be honest – I think any prospective boss would find me rather inappropriate if I had to pitch up to work in a revealing crop-top with cut outs in it – but you get the jist of it. Judging by the latest Paris fashion week – it’s not what designers put in to their garments, but what they leave out which matters now. Linear cuts and geometric shapes can create a sculptural dimension out of the simplest silhouettes. Love love loooooveee!

Side note: pencil skirts look fundamentally better when worn with stilettos – but seeing that I almost broke my ankles when I wore mine last, I thought I’d steer clear of those for now.

Stay tuuuned, Cape Town fashion week is this weekend, so absolutely excited to see SA’s design talent.

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend 🙂 Back to the grind baby!

HH XX

One thought on “Pencil it in

Leave a Reply

