Independent thinkers, independent dressers

The world consists of two types of people: independent thinkers and conformists. Independent thinkers are consequentially independent dressers as they have a careless disregard for what’s ‘trending’. Instead, they wear clothes that resonate with their personal style aesthetics and don’t take pop-culture fad’s to heart (like my friend who wears scrunchies haha).

Considering that this is a fashion blog means that’s pretty hypocritical but leeeet’s be real – it’s true.

There’s this guy that I always see at gym who is a hipster in the best of times and while he dresses in head-to-toe tight black Nike (a bit too tight though, if you know what I mean) – he has the most insane beard. It’s perfectly groomed and is as ginger as my neighbour’s cat, but the fact that he just owns it is impressive. Even though I’m absolutely not a fan of facial hair in any regard and am incapable of such testosterone-induced feats myself – I think that we need more people that are comfortable enough with themselves to grow an orange beard and be proud of it.

Since living in Cape Town I’ve learnt that there’s a beauty in other people’s individuality. Of course the conservative part of me is constantly shocked by some people’s eccentric choices of clothing – but I now have an appreciation for people who will outspokenly dress like a bohemian dancer or maybe even a gypsy – because their non-conformist approach to fashion is rare.


1

Pineapples.

All of a sudden the world exploded with pineapple-obsessed people. WHY?

But I must admit that perhaps I’m somewhat of an unconventional hipster myself because I hated pineapples when they were trending, and now that they’re fading in popularity I’m actually starting to like them haha. FYI – It’s really hard balancing a pineapple on your head.

3small

Photo cred to the phenomenal Kelly Mac. I think onlookers were also wondering “why pineapples?”.


Sometimes it seems that the fashion industry is filled with conformists who are just jumping on any trend’s bandwagon – and yet other times I’m in awe at the industry’s ability to reinvent the ordinary and take a step back from what’s trending to invent something new and fresh. The slit dress is an example of the latter.

Considering the fact that women are less afraid to show off what their mama gave them, as well as the fact that we all got introduced to Angeline Jolie’s awkward leg at the 2012 Oscars – the slit dress is back baby! It took some time to get used to, but I quite like it.

Spring is my favourite season and it’s roughly 3 weeks away – which means that we can slowly trade in our jeans for dresses. Long dresses/skirts can be a little boring and so therefore I suppose this is its sexiest approach.

High slit skirts have become a part of fashion that every woman can use to show off her feminine side that she contrasts with her professional self. It’s chic – but it’s also serious. High slits can be paired with everything from a leather jacket to a silk blouse which is an extra bonus (I personally think a casual leather Jacket is perfect).


11831402_10155859333725175_1045301219_o

imagesmall

Photographed by Kelly Mac

Dress: Woolworths (on sale, only R225!), Watch: Guess Man, Shoes: Cotton On.


P.S While slits offer lots of sex appeal and look phenomenal – they should come with a warning –  as a wardrobe malfunction is VERY likely. Be careful 😉

Check out more photos by Kelly Mac here: http://www.viewbug.com/member/kellyautumn

HH

X

Leave a Reply

